Cactus, Cacti and Drawings

Cactus
Cacti

Aside from palm trees, California do have great conditions for cacti! My brother, his girlfriend, my dad and I went to this neighborhood where few houses have huge cactus gardens and they were beautiful! Kind of funny that they were the greenest of all the greens. My favorite was the one on the far right in both pictures. That one looked like holly leaves but bigger, spikier and in beautiful hue of green! And a beautiful day made those gardens seem fresh and full of life. Nearly made me forgot all about the heat.

d'odici

Afterward, we headed to this place, d’odici, a desserts and coffee shop. There were rows and rows of cups with paintings on them. I’m not sure if the painter actually used coffee to paint or just brown ink. But on the walls, other than a typewriter and camera, there were pencil and watercolor drawings all over, like the picture. It’s beautiful! It doesn’t seem complete, but it has that delicate vibe. That picture above is just one building out of several. And each drawing has a girl in it. It was light and cute. d’odici did have yummy coffees, fizzes and sweets. I had to have creme brulee. The hard sugar shell was perfectly thin and strawberries, blueberries and almond slices balanced out the sweetness. I would love to go back there again and try their macarons. A sweet ending to the day. Ahh…

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

Leave a Reply

