Next Step

photo
So my last post (and maybe few posts), I was expressing my worries about finding jobs and not feeling ready to deal with the next phase.

Until. Yesterday.

It was my graduation. I was getting worried that my family and friends would get lost. I didn’t eat. I got up early and was stressing over my hair’s inability to cooperate. I had a dream the night before that someone was puking and I was getting a little irky. And my family was arriving just a little late and I was worried they wouldn’t be able to get into the seats in the deaf and hard of hearing section. There was the whole “when do I walk over from the journalism section to the deaf and hard of hearing section so I can watch interpreters?” and “when do I get up and run across the field to line up with my journalism department?” thinking.

The ceremony initiated and my interpreters and I were trying to find someone to let us know when it’s my turn to get up. My family arrived. My friends were there. They were sitting just couple rows behind me. Someone notified my interpreter and I then I walked up across the field to get into the line. As soon as I walked past by my classmates, I heard “Department of Journalism” and I screamed as loud as possible with my classmates. And I felt that was perfect timing and I couldn’t be any more happier.

I think at that moment, I just realized I was really ready to graduate and be done. Sure, I didn’t have anything planned out as I would like but I am ready. I walked across the stage and hugged every professor I knew and I was so happy.

I didn’t get to sit with anyone I knew really well so I stood out and hung out with my family and friends. It was fun and one of my friends made a huge cut out of my head. It’s kind of a tradition started few years ago, ha! After the graduation, I went to find my professors for pictures and have them sign on my cap. Then it was off to lunch at Yardhouse.

The day went so well. And I was genuinely happy. Haven’t you noticed? So my next few days are planned for other graduations, parties, meeting up with friends and job applications. Somehow, it made all my worries really minimal. I still have some worries but I’m not overthinking about them as much. It’s a nice feeling. :)

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

3 thoughts on “Next Step”

Leave a Reply

