An Off Kind of Week

Gio

This week is a strange week. Little by little, my to-do pile is shrinking but not as fast as I planned. And I’ve been looking forward to weekend when my spring break start. Recently, a friend of mine told me sad news about another friend. I hoped it wasn’t real. But few people and Facebook comments confirmed it. Then I hoped it wasn’t what I thought. It was.

This week was bit of “work hard, get things done,” “stop and smell the roses” and “thinking back” mixed up. It was very odd because I knew I can’t do anything so I wanted to be productive but at the same time, I’m disheartened by the news. So I dedicate this post in loving memory of Gianni “Gio” Manganelli.

I’m not going to lie but he was weird (in good way!) person. I met him through high school academic bowl. One game, he and I pretty much competed against each others nearly the whole first round, leaving our teammates to watch us (probably in amusement). Anyways, Gio is really intelligent and has soft heart. During my high school years, we kept in touch until we parted in college. Then it was hard to keep in touch when you don’t have updated contact information or if one of us keep closing Facebook account for a while.

I honestly have no words to say about this. I know some of you guys know him. There is a blog along with donation page, please contribute if you can.

To end on lighter note, he did mention this on Facebook: “1. Any girl who wants to be my girlfriend must have an ambition to do Kung Fu with me. That is dead certain.”

That is so true. It really shows his personality and that’s how I will remember him. :)

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

One thought on “An Off Kind of Week”

Leave a Reply

