Comeback

CopicGirl
MeridaSketch
This is my comeback post. **WARNING: Long post! Don’t say I didn’t warn you!** It has been nearly a month since and what an emotional ride it has been. I’m so thankful for 3 F’s. Family. Friends. The Flaming Lips. They helped me to get through this as I get back on my feet. So thank you for all your support and thank you if you’re still reading this and bearing with my month-long hiatus!

Lately, I kept myself busy with books and sketches and catching up with friends. One of my friends invited me to go to Anime Expo and I met his Art Center College of Design friends. They got this awesome set up at their apartment. Hands down. Two white boards, 4 tables pushed together into one huge table, a television and materials everywhere! Anyways, they had a box of markers and I was playing with the Copic markers for hours. It’s like my creative juice start to pump in! See the one with eyes, noses and lips? That’s all Copic marker and pen. The grey girl is done with Copic too. I am instantly in love with Copic markers! These babies are so smooth and it is my first time playing with it! I wish they weren’t so darn expensive!

I’ve slowly getting back to my drawing and what a feeling to be completely focus on a drawing for hours. Then you’re so proud of it. I haven’t felt like that for a while. See the girl with all the curls? She’s Merida from Disney&Pixar’s Brave. That hair took me two hours! And I’m definitely making her into a painting. I’ve never really gone beyond sketch. I thought maybe I should do it anyways to find my medium and my style. I have to be more consistent with this project and so many more. Expect to see more coming up!

I also went to several other events and learn so much. For one, San Francisco Pride weekend. I met this amazing girl, Masha, and we hit it right off. And our conversations definitely helped with my healing process. I was pretty much her buddy for the weekend, too. And the whole trip was so fun despite so many people in one small city! Lilo and Lori invited me to come and I’m glad I went. I even got to meet some of the Bay area friends! And when you’re in San Francisco, you really seen it all!

Other events like 4th of July at friend’s house and swing dance night with SGVCCA youth group definitely kept my mind off! And I even got to catch up with people I rarely see over the school year. I got to see couple movies on the way too and really show myself. It’s kind of awesome to go all out.

Then there were cute hang outs like one or two friends. Those kind of hanging out is really helpful for me to explain, let go and know that I’m fine. And make me realize how much better friend I can be and I will be! Even when my friends are not in state, I still can always text them and it feels like they’re with me. I’m thankful for that!

My mom has been checking on me for first week or two and I’m just thankful for her to listen. It’s really nice when you can share to someone. My family is just family. Nothing’s better than that. If you can share whatever bothering you to anyone who is in your circle, in your family or even out of your circle, it helps lift some weight off.

There is this one person I definitely have to say thanks. My brother. As weird as it sounds (if you know us personally, we’re completely different), I actually believe we ARE related! Anyways, he helped replaced my car brakes and I got to learn how to do it! Also, I was able to catch up some movies like Fast and Furious 6 and Wreck It Ralph at his place. My brother sort of send out “Psh, no big deal! So what?” vibe and I’ve pretty much held it to keep me going. Strange but it works.

So my summer is just less than halfway done. But it’s a good summer still. Wipe the slate clean, be a better (and bigger) person and move forward. :)

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

Leave a Reply

