I Love Kimchi

MamasDay
And that’s my mama with my little cousin, Winnie. It’s one of the recent pictures I have of my mama. If you’re not sure what’s she doing, she’s showing Winnie all the red envelopes she got from my mama. Oh yeah and my mama love kimchi, too. Maybe not as much as I am.
I really love kimchi. In fact, I’m eating it right now. Nom. Nom. Nom. Nom. NOM! If I have a jar, I eat at least a piece every single day until I run out. It’s that crazy. I have a friend named, Kimb. Kim-chi. Kimb-chi. Kim. Kimb! But that’s not the point.

The point is I love kimchi and I love my mama! Happy Mother’s Day to every mothers out there and every father who had to take on mother’s role for his kids! I hope you did something special for your mother!

I didn’t. Before you judge me, I had pretty crazy May. And I have finals this week (and I haven’t really exactly study as much as I should). So instead, I came home and caught up with Mum before dinner time. You see, I’m really lucky right now.

I told her, every time I drive through a tunnel or a wide bridge I do what every other kids do: hold my breath and make a wish until I exited the tunnel. So while I was driving back home, I usually wish for something trivial as wishing I can pass my exams or the process of changing my major will be approved. Okay, the last one was pretty stressful because I was changing within 3 weeks and with little time to think about it! Anyways, this time I drove back and I thought, “Huh, I got nothing to really wish for.” Instead, I wished for great Mother’s Day, the best for everyone going through Finals week and success for the graduates.

Mum asked why and I explained to her how lucky I feel right now. I have amazing support groups. By this I mean, I do not just have one circle of friends. I belong in several circles that I am able to share and laugh with different people. I found a new place to live for next year and it will be another interesting year! I also got a scholarship. Then I also got an opportunity to work for my campus newspaper. It’s not official but I think I have a chance! So many exciting things happening and my mum told me that she’s proud of me. She did not have any worries because at some point, I will find a way to break through.

It was a great talk. And one of the best Mother’s Day gifts for her from me! My mum is a realistic person but it doesn’t mean she do not support me or my brother. Instead, she want us to know the possible negative outcomes. That way, we will have to think of plan B, C and sometimes D! (Or that’s just me. Ka Ho seems like he just went with plan As for most time. He did have to use plan B but not as often.) That is mother’s love to us. :) And I love her for that.

Love your mum. Or your dad. Or anyone who took over mother’s responsibilities and cared for you no matter how crazy we were! Now I just finished eating kimchi and will try my best to stay focus and study for upcoming finals, eek!

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

Leave a Reply

