Week 4

I definitely know what I want to do with this blog now. Even if this mean a lot less frequent postings than before but it’ll look good. I want to make this my personal blog showcasing my artworks and my life. Someday, I want to build a public and professional website specifically for my artworks. For now, this blog will show some sketches I’ve done over the time. Just as a reminder to keep going and see how I’ve grown. And of course, I do want to share some of my personal life just so when I look back, I can say I’m thankful for all things happened. :) Look like I’ll update this blog look in a while!

So, I’m in good pace with my school and social life. Yesterday, Jeff and I went to a red carpet premiere for ASLFilms’ movie, “Hard Man.” This year’s movie is a lot more emotional and pretty deep. But I enjoy it still. And my favorite part wasn’t just the wine and little treats (which I ate hungrily due to lack of lunch) but I finally got the chance to talk to one of my friends, Ryan Lane. I have not been able to talk with him because he’s so darn busy! (He’s in Switched At Birth, by the way) and it was so nice to be able to catch up!

09-16-12 RyanLane
Mr. Ryan Lane, we definitely need to catch up some other day!

And then, I did another quick late night sketch. I’m actually super proud of how this came out.
Especially with the style. I mentioned earlier how I start to like traditional tattoo style? So on my Instagram, I’ve been following few artists that definitely inspire my current style! If you have the app, search:
rikleeillustration (the first one I found and fell in love)
spinsterette (her tattoos are gorgeous!)
glennarthurart (her version of Madame Leota from Haunted Mansion is just captivating!)
eatsleepcreaterepeat (my favorite is the one of a girl eating animals’ limbs)

And of course, you can find me (unoriginalkai) and I do post my sketches when I can.
Like this.
09-15-12 QuickSketch
It’s not that much but the fact I was able to sketch it without erasing her hair or her face because it was just not proportional or in right area made me super happy! Oh and it’s like 1.75″ x 1.5″, pretty small.

Sorry for horrible camera quality. It’s straight out of my iPhone. I no longer have SD card reader with me. So sad. Maybe it’s a sign to upgrade my MacBook? Hm…

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

Leave a Reply

