I’m addicted to…

Kimchi. I actually had this addiction since winter break and I thought it’ll go away. Apparently not! I’m eating it with everything possible! Eek! It’s spicy but so tangy, I like it! Apparently, I can tolerate that level of spiciness! Woohoo!

Anyhoo, I’m taking a film photography class where I actually learn how to develop and make prints! It’s really fun process, even though you may have to reprint over and over to get the contrast or lighting you like. Or you may have to dodge (lighten) or burn (darken) some areas. It’s still fun! Here’s a few I did (well, I submitted those prints for a photography contest at my school, ha).

After Rain
This was taken at San Jose Airport, just right after the rain. You could see some speckled spots which are the raindrops on the glass. Pretty, eh? No filter was used in this one!

The Pink Scooter
The color looks funny here. Probably has to do with the scanner. Anyways, this is actually a pink scooter bike. The owner of this bike has tattoos all over his arms and bright blue hair.

Day or Night
This one was pretty cool outcome I’m surprised. I took this shot by bringing my camera directly to the sky so the sun is actually the back light to the clouds. I actually have to dodge the bottom left corner since the original was really dark. But it came out really nice!

I only have couple more weeks left till school and ever since I’ve been working in darkroom, I’ve stop using my dslr. It’s not that I don’t want to use dslr but it’s because so I can really use the film camera and get used to not knowing what it come out. It’ll be cool to have a small darkroom in my future house! But for now, I have one more project to go! But I still have plenty of films for my future pictures (and my fisheyes! Hmm, maybe Holga? Or Diana? Who knows?!) One thing for sure, I need more films for my poloraid sx-70! Man, who knew having this much cameras would be fun!

My next goal? Leica :)

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

Leave a Reply

