Day1: Myself

Today (or tonight? I sketched this around 10ish p.m.) I start my 30 days challenge. I doubt it will be 30 consecutive days but I will definitely finish the whole challenge! It’s because I’m INTENSE like that! (Sorry, an inside joke :p). Anyhoo, the first sketch of the challenge is…
Day1:Myself
Yup. “Draw a picture of yourself.” This was actually a picture that my friend, Darren, took at SGVCCA Banquet.
Here’s the photo.
Me

It was a really quick sketch. You can’t really see but there are pencil lines (ha, sorry D!) and not a lot of details. But in a way this kind of pretty much describe me. Yes, sometimes I focused on details, hence the weird wrinkle lines and the odd hairs positions. I can be messy (stray hairs everywhere!) or just really lazy (pencil lines are not erased still!). But for sure, looking at this picture, I am one happy girl. And that’s all there is to it.

To be honest, I kind of like the sketch. It’s my first actual self-portrait. It’s not perfect or accurate but I like it and I’m not perfect. :) For the lighting, I felt that without colors it can look really flat. I don’t really want to muddle up with more sketches so I drew some light “spots” and it’s not bad. I actually had to restrain myself from adding so much more details that it’ll overwhelm it. I just pencil lined the shoulders but I decided to not pen it. Just because. Maybe eventually I will, maybe I won’t.

Simplicity at its best.

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

Leave a Reply

