Deaf Awareness Weekend!

The interns of my dorm building, Lighthouse, hosted Deaf Awareness Weekend and I got to say, that was fun! :). I was able to attend all three events and I throughly enjoyed them all! Thanks to Katie, Leah, and Ellen for organizing!
First was movie night. We went to MPR and watched Madagascar. There we also had pizzas and chilled with friends and I met a girl who was learning sign language. It was really cool. Jeff and I were finding resemblances between different characters and people we know. Jeff is pretty much almost like Alex the Lion. Hahaha

Saturday was a trip to Disneyland!! Some of us were able to get free Disneyland tickets AND $20 gift card for meals which is pretty sweet deal. Once my friends and I got there, we head straight to Space Mountain! Since it was Deaf Awareness Day at Disneyland, I got to see some of my friends and actually talked with people who knew how to sign. Some of them came all the way from Las Vegas! It was neat. Of course, one place we always have to go along with Indiana Jones, Pirates of the Caribbean, and Haunted Mansion, the Astro Blaster!! I love that game!! I have to say I’m pretty glad with my score. :)

Hehehe!
The ride back was definitely fun! Nothing, like blind signing to make things interesting :)

Saturday in the park, I think it was fourth of July… No, it was Sunday! So we went to a park near my campus. Played catch and ate cheeseburgers fresh off the grill. Oh right, and veggie burgers. They were actually delicious! Of course, nothing beat Europe’s McDonald’s curry-tasting veggie burgers! Anyway, some of us got to play a game of baseball and it was definitely fun! There were homeruns, sliding, stealing bases, and of course a bit of dust-kicking. :)

Definitely a great weekend! :)

Published by

Chan Kai

Hello! I'm the brainchild behind Blu Narwhale. I thrive in curiosities and truly believe Pluto still is a planet.

One thought on “Deaf Awareness Weekend!”

Leave a Reply

